Put a Pin on the Map View my Forum Guestmap
Free Guestmaps by Bravenet.com

The Old Acclaimed Music Forum

Go to the NEW FORUM

Music, music, music...
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
That old topic called "the language barrier" and so...

I guess this is a question that has already been occasionnally raised, but I've been thinking about it lately and I would like your opinion on the matter.

I thought about it because, most of all, I'm a French student in foreign languages, so I can't dismiss it when I'm listening to music. Besides that, this is an interview with Manu Chao that I watched that triggered my thinking. In it, he said that in his opinion, the language barrier was "pretty much done" and that bands and artists could enjoy success despite their origin. I think that he is applying his own situation and that of his former band, the Mano Negra, to the rest of the world.

As far as I know, there is still quite a bunch of artists who enjoy critical, commercial, or both, success in their country of origin, but are completely unknown elsewhere, so as far as I like Manu, I think he has somewhat lost touch with reality there.

Past the laziness with foreign languages of critics and the public, or simply their lack of knowledge, there are a few factors that I believe enforce this barrier.

-the era: regarding instrumental music, such as jazz or electronic music, the fate of international artists has been different. Looking at the lists, acclaimed jazz artists are essentially from English-speaking countries, but electronic music artists are from more varied origins. So the difference comes form how the music was distributed then and now I believe.