Free Guestmaps by Bravenet.com

The Old Acclaimed Music Forum

Go to the NEW FORUM

Music, music, music...
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Links you have to acclaimed artists

In college, I knew a kid who related to Brian Eno. His father was deceased, and hadn't been particularly close to Eno, and my friend felt weird seeking out his father's cousin based on musical admiration.

I went to elementary school with the daughter of Cliff Williams, Bassist for AC/DC. Once or twice I found myself at his house, without a clue in the world why people were so in awe of him.

Bob Dylan owned a house near Loyola University New Orleans, where I studied. His house was in a very ritzy, well to do gated community, but it bordered on a back street where I walked down to go to the bars. Every once in a while (when Dylan was home, which was rarely) my friends and I would sit and joke around with the armed guard he posted on the street entrance to his home, asking him if he'd let us meet Dylan.

Re: Links you have to acclaimed artists

My wife is second cousins to Jaco Pastorius (he was her mother's first cousin). I attended Jaco's father's funeral a couple years ago.

I guess i'm only linked to someone via Adam and Eve

Never met neither the father nor the daughter, but my aunt was one of the assistants of the director of Louis Le Grand's high school in Paris, where Charlotte Gainsbourg studied for a while. She met Serge Gainsbourg several times, and told us he was always pissing them off with his daughter, always worried and looking if everything was okay. Funny .
Wished I could have seen Serge at least once in concert...