Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Hello and a marking question

Hi all,

My name is Raimondo Bogaars and I am a passionate WWII researcher for the foundation Erfgoed 40-45, gemeenten Valkenswaard en Waalre.
A few weeks back I became the proud owner of a BSA m20 project bike which is now in the process of being restored by me.

I have been reading this forum for a while and noticed a few threads about markings. One stating that formation sings weren´t painted on motorcycles from 1941 onwards. As I am planning to make my bike one portaying the 3rd Bn. Irish Guards my guess is that the GAD logo would go on the drivers left hand side and the formation sign (if being carried) on the drivers right hand side.

Between the pictures in the foundations collection that are made in area of the foundations interest (Valkenswaard-Waalre region in the Netherlands) there are a few motorcycles to be spotted wearing different kind of markings. Some dohave formation insignia on the bike.

Irish-Guards-3rd-Bn

This is a bike from the 3rd Bn. Irish Guards (Notice the 62 on the fender) on the 18th of September 1944 in Aalst (Waalre) during the liberation. If you look very sharply the decal of the GAD could be spotted faintly on the tank below the number. There is no proof if there would be a formation side on the other side of the tank so that is the big question mark.

RASC

This picture is made late 1944 early 1945. It is a unidentified R.A.S.C. unit in the village of Aalst. The formation sign which is carried normaly on the right hand side can be seen on the lefthand side of the bike.

Signal-Corps

This picture that is also made late 1944 early 1945 is of a despatch rider of the Royal corps of signals. Also made in the village of Aalst. Notice the formation side being placed above the tank number.

Unknown