Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Newbie looking at WM20 tomorrow to buy

Hi all, Im a newbie to the WM20 but at 58 been on bikes since the 70s. Im looking at an unrestored running/rideable bike tomorrow with a bunch of spares with it, new tank and more. Any problem areas you can give me a heads up on. looking at paying around 7400 Australian $. The M20 was my Dads first bike in about 1947, he sold it for a Royal Enfield Silver Bullet which he regretted and ended up with a WLA for many years.
Any advice greatly appreciated.

email (option): kurandaclarkes@bigpond,com

Re: Newbie looking at WM20 tomorrow to buy

I'd concern myself with the bike's overall condition. If the bike looks straight & runs well it can be kept in this condition as vital parts are available. They're fairly maintenance intensive but I reckon you'd know that from your Dad's bikes. Don't know about prices, sorry. I'd look at the electrics, not because they're unreliable but because repairs there can be pricey & need someone who knows their stuff.

Have a good long (theatrical) look at the girder and it's links, if they are worn the links can be bought and bushes replaced by anyone half decent with a tool box. But it is a good bargaining point as "the forks need refurbishing" can sound more expensive than it really is. :wink:
Apart from that if it does start and the bulbs get brighter with a blip of the throttle then two of most expensive/time consuming problems are not there (magdyno rebuild).
Good luck, I am sure other will add other points/opinions!!
Scott

If your of average weight (what is that exactly?:laughing: ) and you turn the engine over slowly using the kick start until it comes onto compression, a good engine will just about support your weight on the kick start before it turns over...