Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
gearbox conversion

I am thinking of modifying a (“standard”) rigid/plunger type gearbox to replace the 1946-48 type fitted to my 1947 B33. The original gearbox is OK and I have refurbished it but I would prefer the more robust version, which are easier to come by, if I can work out how to modify the case and organize a way of tensioning the primary chain.

Has anyone done this or can someone offer advice, tips etc.

First problem is how much and where to take material off the casing so that it fits into the narrower frame plates (2 inch instead of 2.5 inch wide) and lines up with the rear wheel sprocket.

Measuring the distance from the sprocket to the boss on both types of boxes suggests that the standard box would be around 6.5 mm too far inboard if the driveside end of the gearbox locating boss (is that the correct term? I’m a biologist not an engineer) is left intact.

Standard gearbox
standard-box-with-measurements-small

1946-48 gearbox
46-4-box-with-measurement

A gearbox was recently offered for sale which seemed to have been modified, perhaps for this purpose but to my mind would not fit as only material from the timing side has been removed.
standard-box-cut-down

What I reckon, and please do correct me!!, is that I should take 6.35mm (1/4 inch) off each end of the boss so that it fits between the plates. It looks to me like that is maybe what BSA did and then made up the difference from the driveside main bearing to the chain line by extending the spigot on the sprocket.

Standard
standard-sprocket-with-measurement-small

1964-48
46-48-sprocket-with-measurement-small

Has anyone solved the problem of chain adjustment?

46-48-1

All and any suggestions very welcome (note: measurements taken in a freezing shed so not accurate to the last thou!)

cheers
Pete :smiley:

Re: gearbox conversion