Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Gearbox issue

Remove outer cover. Inside top right is an adjuster rod, wind it out half a turn. Worked for me.

Is the clutch dragging ? With the motor running and in gear, can you paddle it backwards without too much resistance ?

Clutch was first thought but it checks out fine. Rolls forward and back easily with clutch engaged but in gear. Also clutch had had a lot of attention and I'm sure it's working as well as it can. I will take the side cover off and investigate adjustment - I'm not really that familiar with this box and I'm still learning!

When you see the adjuster top right, remove the pin from the clevis and wind out half a turn. you shouldn't need more then that.

Interesting idea Ian,I have the same problem.

Thanks Ian - that's very clear. I will try this and see what happens. I am interested though in what is being adjusted. Can anybody explain?

Actually now I have looked at some diagrams it becomes clear. Winding out will take up some sack in the rod and that may sort out the problem.

Mike your gearbox sounds like a typical M20 box. I had the same problems and despite several strip downs they remain. They have improved as I have putmiles on the bike due to a combination of acceptance and gearchange technique developement on my part.

If you read the army riding instructions for the M20, you will notice some differences, compared to the BSA manual, on how to engage and change gear, so clearly they were bothersome from new. In summary to engage first from neutral when stationary: pull in the clutch, apply pressure to the gear lever and gently rock the bike back and forth until 1st gear engages. Keep applying the pressure to the lever as you let out the clutch and the bike moves off.