Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Recent owner with a few Q!

Hi all.
I'm new to the classic bike scene and decided to buy a BSA WM20 as my grandfather rode one in 1944/45 whilst he was in the MP.
Now I'm the proud owner of a 1945 WM20 fitted with a 1939 engine. It has a black out light, panniers, a field stand, brass levers, chain guard top and bottom, brass plate on back giving military reg, rebuild date plate on side valve plate, convoy rear light etc. Ive used it for a few runs out and its ridable (I put an MOT on it to be sure) but now it needs some jobs doing so I can enjoy the rides more often!

Now for a few questions!

1. I need a new front tyre as there is some cracking and it keeps going flat. I was going to buy an Avon Speedmaster 3.25 / 19 as it has an Avon on the back and the front is a 3.25. looked through the forum and as with all forums there is mixed advice re the 3.25 vs the 3.5. Does it matter which I go for?

2. The front steering damper has snapped at the bottom. I can remover the long steel bar with the Bakelite knob at the top but there is noting else attached or present top or bottom. The bottom has about 5 thread on it but most are rounded off and its pretty much smooth. The forks have some slight movement (less than 1 mm forward and back) and so does this mean I just need to replace the steering damper or does it mean that I have to strip and rebuild further. Ideally I want to keep the bike as original as poss and do not want to build a shiny 'better than new' bike so I only want to replace what I need to be able to use it (It did pass an MOT last year with an experienced classic bike owner / tester so the movement isn't huge).