Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
1/4 scale BSA WM20 model kits

Hi All

For those whom don't know I used to be a professional modelmaker and that's how I ended up in Hong Kong as a student on work experience 33 years ago and then I helped run one of the world top model making companies here for 12 years.

I have just purchased and waiting for the delivery of a new Einscan hand held 3D scanner and I will be stripping my newly restored WM20 all the way back down to its nuts and bolts for a second time. Once stripped down I will be hand scanning and digitising the components of the bike and saving them as digital files. After this lengthy process I am then planning to go into production making a large scale model of the WM20 that I will sell, the purchaser will be able to spray the pieces in the same colour as their own bikes and even give it your own matching contract number on the tank. The pieces can then be assembled and displayed in your man cave or pride of place in the living room for those of you who are single.

This is that part where I would love some feedback from all on the forum.

Would this be an item that people are actually interested in?

I am thinking of a couple of options for scale and they are 1/4 scale, that would be 21 inches in length and stand about 8 inches tall. with a wheel dimeter of 5 inches.

Or 1/6 scale same size as the action man figures or Barbie for those whom like gender equality. that would be 14 inches long about 5 1/2 inches tall with a 3 inch diameter wheel.

I am personally aiming for the 1/4 scale as the detail for the spokes would look a lot more realistic and I can get real chain at about that scale as well.