Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
BSA M20 fuel tank style questions

I am new to the BSA M20 community. For the fuel tank for BSA M20's produced from 1942 onward, it would appear that right rear of the tank is flat, whereas the earlier tank was the same on the left and the right. Why did the 1942 - onward tanks have this flat area on the right rear? It also appears that there were several different styles gas caps made during production.

Comparing vintage photos and restored motorcycles, it appears that the early BSA M20 and the post-WWII M20 and M21 used the same style (shape) of fuel tank, but 1942-1945 used a different style.

Can anyone explain why?

email (option): questmasters(at)hotmail(dot)com

Re: BSA M20 fuel tank style questions

To allow for the tank top Vokes filter pipe. Ron

M20-246

email (option): ronpier@talk21.com

The 'cut off' petrol tanks were only fitted to the last three contracts of the war and the filters themselves only to the last two contracts...

It's worth noting therefore, that no Vokes filters were fitted to M20s during the desert campaign...There is a picture of an M20 in Italy with one fitted that was shown in a previous post on the subject but that must have been either a late war machine or a 'retro' fitment of the tank/filter assembly...

The large 'Deluxe' type tank fitted to early contracts was superseded by 1941 and possibly during 1940. I'm sure someone will clarify that date.

The 'mid war' tank was simply altered for the later contracts described above to accommodate the Vokes filter tube but was essentially the same tank.....Ian

email (option): ian@wright52.plus.com

Hello
could I ask you where did you get this important information?