Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
WTK - BSA M20 Engine Color

I am brand new to the M20 world! For a factory delivered wartime M20, what colors were the engine painted (top end and bottom end). How were the bolts and hardware finished (zinc, phosphate coated)? And did the color and finishes of parts change from year to year during the war?

Is there a restoration guide for the entire motorcycle that shows the finish colors for all parts (painting and plating of all parts, etc) and shows when parts were introduced or deleted in production, changes for example like tank air filter, headlight, buddy seat styles in and on. Thanks!

email (option): questmasters(at)hotmail(dot)com

Re: WTK - BSA M20 Engine Color

Depends upon which contract it was made to,
To determine this , those with the magical powers will need your engine & frame numbers.
Most bolts were cadimum plated a finish that is illegal about everywhere,
Close is stainless steel cleaned with stainless steel pot cleaner & not polished after or dull zinc.

email (option): bsansw1@tpg.com.au

As far as the paint colour is concerned, the general rule is:-
At the outbreak of war, vehicles were painted 'Kahki Green' (gas proof No3) It's more or less the colour of 'new' army webbing.

Because of the shortage of something called 'yellow ochre' the colour was changed to 'Service Brown' (BS 499) Which started at some point in 1942.

At some point in 1944 the colour changed to 'Olive Drab' (BS 298).

This is just a rough guide as there were overlaps and variations in shades and other colours were used. The only painted parts on an M20 engine from the factory would have been the barrel and head and things like maydyno straps in black and I don't know if they used paint or some sort of stove enamel back then?