Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
New owner - Novice questions

Hello all.
I'm a new owner and a complete novice, sorry. I'd email Ron and ask question after question, but I thought best not to bombard him (yet!).
I'm so new at this, today was my first day at getting it started.
Firstly had to figure out the simple task of how much oil to put in it. I filled it up with the filter still inside and the oil just filled the centre channel of that and not the oil tank itself! I can see I have a lot to learn here.

It took near 50 attempts I think, before it ran. Granted, I'm having to learn EVERYTHING from the ground up. It started with a combination of 1/3rd from fully retarded ignition, 1/4 open choke and the minutest twist of the throttle. This was today's greatest achievement. We all have to start somewhere.

I have some questions (many in fact):

- There is fuel around the spark plug, I believe from my failed 49 attempts. Compression just forcing the fuel out during the non-firing attempts, but thought I'd check that it is normal for my newbie status.

- The ring that goes around the gear selector to inform which gear you are in, has moved. It is now in neutral between 2nd and 3rd. It moves by hand, so is loose - is that a characteristic or something knackered?

- I can select first gear and go back to neutral but anything after that doesn't feel to engage, this is without the engine running. That worries me. Should I be able to run up and down the gears?

- There is an oil leak what looks like from the left side foot peg, but I'll have to narrow that down as it's dark now. What is likely to leak from that side?

- The front tyre has 'MAY 56' written on it (still has WD marking) - does that mean it was likely still used by the military up to at least that year? The rear tyre looks newer and says 'made in the USSR' on it! That did make me laugh.