Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
New owner Q's

New on here and to old bikes (old anything). Been looking through threads to pick up on things; sorry if I end up asking dumb/novice questions – but that is because I’m a dumb novice :-) But better to ask than foul things up. I can live with the raised eyebrows if you can live with the q’s!

I already have the bike (M20) and have started stripping the engine as it was very noisy compared to others I have listened to. I had checked the tappet gaps and they were not the problem. I find the valve guides have a lot of side play in them so that has to be one source. Is it likely the valve stems will have worn too, the heads look used but ok? Is there a publication that gives tolerances for the mechanical parts e.g. limits on stem thickness and so on for the bike? I have the basic owner/strip down manual.

There seems no perceptible play at all in either the gudgeon pin or big end (tested by hand movement only), but the piston skirt does seem quite scored to my untrained eye particularly the back/rear of it – or is this to be expected?. So, I am ruling out piston slap as a mechanical noise source. But there may be evidence of oil coming up the bore or valves into the combustion area, either linked to the scored piston or worn guides or both. The only mark I could see on the piston top seems to be 83.

Given no big end movement what is the feeling on whether I should strip it down totally to check the main bearings etc?

Thanks for any advice.

Re: New owner Q's

Hi Rog..and welcome to the forum (and the strange world of M20 ownership)...

Firstly, mail me off forum for some dimensional information...

Regarding your engine if there is visible wear on the valve stems they will need replacement..This can be confirmed by measurement if needed...
Good quality replacements are available from G&S Valves...