Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Not another !!

I'm no expert but it looks like when it was left in Arnhem, lots of bits were removed!! Looks like it has a rear crinkle hub on front, wrong light switch, Bantam Handlebars?, plunger style silencer, later footrests, carb floatbowl for an inclined fitting, frame is lugged with incorrect? head steady attachment........etc.... Would probably cost some to get into correct condition.

eBay item number... 111871739942

Re: Not another !!

The sidecar lugs could make it a postwar Dutch Army M21?

Rob

email (option): robmiller11(a)yahoo.co.uk

A pretty crap example, with an improbable 'history' as well...

Lots and lots to do (too much to list) to put this back into the correct specification...Not sure what's going on with the engine number either...

The front wheel is probably from a rigid A7 which had interchangeable 'crinkle' hub wheels...Ian

email (option): ian@wright52.plus.com

Rob Miller
The sidecar lugs could make it a postwar Dutch Army M21?

Rob

Yes, frame looks like Dutch Army but from 1940, with only the lefthand sidecarlug on the rearframe and the lugs for the small propstand, below the brakelever-pivot, also low WM framenumber looks correct to me.

Pity it doesn't have much other early parts anymore..... Cheers, Michiel

WM20 1942 was despatched to Staatsbedrijf Holland on 18/4/1940.

To be honest, based even on what I've seen even at enthusiast gatherings, this bike would satisfy 50% - 60% of those who want a matt green army bike....

Another one from the same seller, in fact a 1949 G3L with a (restamped) 41-G3L replacement engine fitted.

http://www.dutch-lion-motorbikes.com/nl/motorfietsen/matchless-g3l-from-1941-ex-second-world-war-bike

Regards,
Peter

I didn't read it properly, I thought they were claiming it was 1942 as a year of manufacture.