Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
A brief introduction and a first question

Aloha,

I am new to this forum, as I am fairly new to the BSA sidevalve singels. I have recently started a restoration of a 1947 M21 (no sidecar). I bought the bike in baskets and boxes (as is my habit when purchasing motorcycles) and it is fairly complete. The bike is originally a military police bike from Sri Lanka that was imported to Sweden sometime late 80:s early 90:s. So it got a bit of a history.

I have previously built a Triumph Bonneville (late 60:s model) and a Vespa 180 Super Sport. Really exited about this one since I've been wanting an M-model for many years and now finally going at it!

My first question is with regards to the (girder)fork bushings. Any hints on where I can find a new set? The once on the bike is completely worn out.

Although I've been reading here for a while this was my first post. The forum appeares to me to be full of knowledge and I'm guessing I'll be back again with more questions during the winter...

regards,

simon

Re: A brief introduction and a first question

Aloha Simon,welcome to the forum, Russell Motors of Battersea London have them
part number 66-5065 at £6.50 each,they are listing most fork parts so you should be ok.It is best to fax your enquiry or order as Les doesn't like computers.
Parts list and prices at
http://www.russellmotors.co.uk/Classic%20bikes/Downloads/files/bsa.pdf
hope this helps
cheers Rick

email (option): richardholt@rocketmail.com

You have a number of options depending on your skill, what you intend to do yourself and whether you have access to a lathe. Replacement bushes will have to be reemed after fitting and the link spigots are probably also worn.
One option is to reem the existing bushes in situ and then machine new spigots to suit. These can be brazed onto the links.

email (option): pvlietstra