Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
M20 authenticity

Hello everyone!
I'm a reenactor and motorcycle enthusiast from Hamburg and I need your help! - Please!

I bought a BSA M20 about two months ago, and still waiting for it to arrive. Since then I'm gathering informations as many as I can.
I'm not really familliar with bikes like this, in fact it's my very first "older" bike.
I sold my lovely 2007 Ninja ZX6R to finance the BSA, so you might understand I'm really serious with this.
Also, keep in mind I'm riding for only 5 years in total, I'm 24 years old and since I'm a chemist I'm definitely not an experienced mechanic at all!

First things first. This is the bike I purchased:
http://www.abload.de/gallery.php?key=qqQwVBJ2

It's supposed to be from 1944, I bought it from the US, was at least 30 years in the hands of the pre owner and seldom ridden. Basicly, that's all the info I got there...

Now, because I'm also (trying) to re-enact, I'd love to have the M20 not only in working order, but also in the most "authentic" and "original" look, as I could possibly make. That IS my goal.

I spent a lot of time researching, comparing pictures and dates and so on, but I have the feeling there're so many details I simply can't find out for sure.
For example, I know you guys have the knowledge to preciecly identify an indian made copy girder fork from an original one - just by a picture! But actually that is not my concern because I have tons of other questions.

So here we go:

- First of all: Is that an odd colour mix for an military 1944 M20?

It appears to me, the main frame, both rims, fork, most plugs, levers, speedo, main and fieldstand and the complete handlebar are painted black.
As you can see, only a few parts are actually some kind of olive.