Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
New M20 purchase - very exciting.

hello there.

I'm new to the BSA M20, world but have just made a my first purchase. i have a little knowledge, which i believe they say makes me more of danger to my self...

any way, i was wondering if people could help. i live in the UK and i have bought a bike that was original from Belgium. it has no Reg plates on it and has no Belgium document. my understanding was that it has been in a barn for over 30 years! and way i wand to get it registered in the UK and I'd like some advice on that.

the frame number is WM2070924 and the engine number is WD2086793. i believe it's a 1942 bike but can anyone tell me any more info about it in terms of date of manufacture? are the numbers matching and original? what regiment was it with, how did it and up in Belgium etc... i believe i need a heritage certificate, will the frame and Engine number be enough for that and, who can do this for me?

the bike runs although the gearbox is not selecting a gear at present - I've not had it apart yet but is this a know problem to fix? i also need a couple of other parts, a valve spring cover, front head light (not the case) rear light unit and a stand. can anyone help with that?

anyway, as i said, I'm new to this and any input, advice and direction is very welcome!

thanks
Dave
Surrey, England

email (option): daveslinn@matrixtrust.com

Re: New M20 purchase - very exciting.

For BSA dating certificates I always used
Dick Lewis

Hi dave

If its the bike I think it is, you have a good machine to work on, the tinware is good although I think it has a later war rear guard, you need a battery carrier and a lower rear guard stay as the one you have is in fact the lifting handle. I may have seen this some weeks back