Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Girder Suspension

Hi,

Does anyone know the spring rate for the front suspension spring? I've read in the service manual that 300lbs should compress the spring 2". I suppose the rate is linear and so 150lbs/inch. This seems quite soft to me?

Also, how much suspension travel is there (i.e. inches of movement at the front wheel) and if the suspension was to 'bottom out' what would hit against what? (Is there a stop?)

Thanks!

Ben

email (option): mad_king_soup@hotmail.com

Re: Girder Suspension

Hi Ben..300lbs applied, resulting in a spring compression of 2", is the condemnation limit for the spring...it would be 'binned' at that point.
The 'acceptable' tolerance is slightly higher at 320-330 lbs. The spring is 'evenly' wound so I guess its performance is linear, though I'm no expert on the characteristics of springs under load.
Too firm a spring would not react to minor irregularities I imagine so its specification is probably a compromise based across the potential load range.(like most mechanical designs)
One of the problems with girder forks is the limited range of movement. This is governed by the arc of movement (or indirectly length) of the side links combined with practical compression limits on the main spring. I've never checked it but around 3" is typical I think.
As the side links move through an arc this is mirrored in the movement of the wheel spindle with consequent effects on the rake and trail of the forks, so I wouldn't think too much movement would be desirable.
One big advantage of girder forks over (older) tele fork designs is their greater degree of lateral stiffness, so on a good road surface they perform well and are better for sidecar use...Ian

email (option): ian@wright52.plus.com

Thanks for the info Ian.