Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Frame thread sizes

Happy New Year!
Here's hoping your New Year's day has been more productive than mine. You'd think I'd know better about boozing into the small hours...

I've had a look at the technical section in the hope of finding the thread types/sizes for the frame reasembly as I'm no expert on imperial sizes. I need to heli-coil the front tank mounts and tidy various bits & pieces and a selection of the more popular taps & dies would prove useful as well as knowing what heli-coils to buy - does anyone have a list, no matter how small?

email (option): lee@twowheelstested.co.uk

Re: Frame thread sizes

Hi Lee,

All the frame bosses are 5/16 BSCY. This is a fine thread (60 degree included angle)that is supposed to resist vibration. Most of the mudguard fasteners are 1/4-26 BSCY. The only exception is the rear chain adjuster which is 1/4-20 BSW (British Standard Whitworth, 55 degree included angle).

You will need the following taps and dies to work on your bike: 1/4, 5/16, 3/8 inch BSCY (26 TPI), 7/16-20 and 1/2-20 BSCY. 5/16 BSCY is the most common.

All the engine and gearbox studs are 3/8 inch BSCY, save the lowest one on the front down tube. That one is 7/16-20. The footpegs are 1/2-20 tpi and one other through stud just beneath that is 1/2-20.

Both 7/16-20 and 1/2-20 BSCY are the same as UNF (USA-Unified National Fine. Buy these as they are not "specials" to get more money out of you.

David over at Uni-Thread is a great resource for thread repair kits. Tell him I send you OK?

MAP technical Publications has an excellent book out called "Screw Threads and Twist Drills" ISBN # 0 85242 357 8. It's prolly out of print now.

Cheers

email (option): britool51@hotmail.com

Many thanks Rob, that's really helpful.