Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
1940 (?) BSA or Matchless identification

Hi folks! I'm new to this site and am posting here on recommendation from Henk. I have recently purchased what was described to me as a 1940 Matchless motorcycle. After talking to Henk, it turns out that the frame is not a BSA, as I originally thought. I am trying to find out what the actual make, model and year of this frame is. The number stamped on the seat post reads "22402". The engine, though not OEM to this bike, is a 1943 BSA M20 motor stamped "WM20 87258". I am new to the Matchless/BSA brand and don't know much about them. Even though it's in rough condition, it seems like a good project. Any and all help/info would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!
Scott

email (option): Scooter619@rocketmail.com

Re: 1940 (?) BSA or Matchless identification

hi scott,any pictures available?cheers rick

email (option): richardholt@rocketmail.com

Hi, if the frame is a matchless one, it would be stamped under the seat on the casting, the number you quote is for an early 1941 Matchless G3L (february), how it comes to be with the WM20 engine is a mystery!

email (option): davmax@ntlworld.com

I've replied to your request on another forum.

Here some photos of that bike.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

email (option): ahum@quicknet.nl

I think your best idea would be to get a Matchless engine and restore it as a Matchless as the engines are pretty easy to get hold of even if you just make one up from parts, it appears mainly Matchless, so I think it would be the best way to go

email (option): davmax@ntlworld.com

Yep! The frame, gearbox and oil tank are Matchless. The front forks are M20. I like the engine plates???? Not!

Ron

email (option): ronpier@talk21.com