Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Norton 1940 formation signs

Dear friends,
All parts of my 1940 16H are being painted including the petrol tank after matching the KG3 that was still under one layer of color.
Matching Frame and Engine numbers: W19518
That makes it an August 1940 model.
Census number: C4317795
The bike was found in Greece and was wondering whether anyone can help me out providing details of the formation signs that she could have had...
Kostas

email (option): ferrarakias@hotmail.com

Re: Norton 1940 formation signs

Glad to hear that the project is coming along Kostas.

I'm not an expert on the units involved in Greece in 1941 but there are a few websites which can help.

http://www.rothwell.force9.co.uk/Greece1941.htm

Most of the Commonwealth troops in Greece were Australian / New Zealand units and they both had Nortons in use

In all honesty, the majority of motorcycles in the Middle East (which is where the equipment for the Greece campaign came from) don't seem to have displayed any markings at all but there are references for the armour.

The British 3rd Royal Tank Regiment as part of 2nd Armoured Division is quite a nice colourful one.

http://www.armouredacorn.com/Refs-%20Thumbprints%20&%20Images/NCVM/NCVM%20Part%2051%20%28BEFs%20Greece%29%20-1.pdf

You could, if you chose this, have the white knight's helmet on red on one side of the fuel tank (indicating 2nd Armoured Division) and the white '52' on red ground on the other side, this being the 'Arm of Service' number for 3rd RTR.

If you added the embarkation code 0042 to the front mudguard, with the green/ blue/ green stripes, that would be a nice touch. These were usually removed after landing but I can imagine that there wasn't time in Greece.