Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Bought this Project, constructive criticism welcome!!

Bought this project the other week, and thought I'd post up a few pictures, maybe people coule make comments on it etc to steer me in the right direction. I know there are many non original items on it and 'previous owner modifications', but I bought it as a restoration project. Comments welcome

Frame No: WM20 29168
Engine No: WM20 29027

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

email (option): glenn_mullan@postmaster.co.uk

Re: Bought this Project, constructive criticism welcome!!

Hi Glenn,
Doesn't look bad at all.
I am sure there are non standard bits bit I am no expert.
The only items I would attend to are improving the petrol pipe and moving the CVC box to a less exposed postition!
The only reason the CVC box is up there is, I suspect, poor charging. Much easier to whip the cover off and press the contacts together there than tucked away under the seat.
I am very envious as this is the sort of bike I want, I personally wouldn't restore it. If it runs just get it on the road and enjoy it!
Regards
Clive

email (option): cliveandjo@lineone.net

A nice project.. I would restore it, once you have determined what year it is and what its spec should be...At the very least I would remove all non BSA and postwar parts and replace them with the correct ones..Rear carriers/stays,pillion seat, toolbox,lower front mudguard stay,headlamp brackets,petrol pipe,outer primary cover, air filter,handlebar levers, silencer bracket and battery carrier front are all candidates at first glance..Ian

email (option): ian@wright52.plus.com

As far as I have my calculation ok your tank number would have been C4341593. Here two photos of bikes with tank numbers close to yours and this is what your bike would have looked like when new too.

Henk

C4342052

C4300302