Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Re: WM20 mudguard stays

I'm trying to recommission my bike after 4-5 months off the road. After the brake torque arm came adrift last year (sloppy maintenance no doubt), the mudguard stays were badly damaged.

I've managed to straighten most of them; they're not perfect, but reasonably acceptable until I can sort out what really needs replacing. There are a couple of questions arising from this.

1. Does anyone have any metalurgical knowledge of the steel used for these items? I was surprised to find how malleable everything was. Didn't feel like mild steel (and I've got some experience of working with mild steel from various projects). So is this steel different/special? I should point out that these components are 15-20 years old (at least) and therefore probably genuine BSA. The steel looks almost, but not quite, galvanised. It straightened without much creasing, and seems fairly hard on the surface (unlike mild steel which indents easily). I might be making too much of this, but the steel is definitely different. Any thoughts?

2. There's a small stud on the left hand side to which all the mudguard stays/lifting handle are anchored (it's just above and slightly forward of the spindle - I think). Anyway, this stud is bent and needs replacing. But how is that stud fixed? Is it just screwed in? Or is there something else to watch here?

3. I need the torque arm-to-brake plate securing bolt, nut and all the associated spacers/washers. Does anyone have any (or ideally all) of these items?

4. I'm not sure of the proper sequence for locating the mudguard stays. I've got pictures of how it originally was, but would like to check which stay goes where. It's looks fairly straightforward, but I want to be sure.