Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
38 m20

Hi all I have been trying to source some photos of a 1938 m20 for restoration purposes.I have seen a few bikes claiming to be 1937 but they look like WM20's and appear to have the wrong head, barrels, timeing gear cover and oil tank/frame as i believe they differ from the WM20 and the parts I have are definetly different in apperance. But in saying that I'm no expert, so would be greatful for any assistance. Thanks Graeme

email (option): smith.g.m@bigpond.com

Re: 38 m20

Hi Graeme,

The 1937 and 1938 M20's are quite different from the later type. The engine has the 8 bolt head and the tappet case is one with the cylinder. In the later types there is an air gap between the cylinder and the tappet case. The engine has a different entirely flat timing case which also has a slightly different shape. The timing cover is not interchangeable with the later type. The cams have spindles attached and run in the timing cover. There is no support plate like on the later types. It is a pain taking the timing cover off and have you cams drop out every time if you are not careful enough. The spindle type cams come in quite a few guises so you have to take care to find the right types. The profiles are all different. I have a box full of that type but there is a difference between the B and M group cams to start with and even the M group cams come in 3 types.

Another very noticeable difference is the oiltank which is attached to flat strip like lugs attached to the main frame triangle. It is of a smaller capacity than the later type. The oil lines should be the all hose type and not the later copper pipe with rubber sleeve type. Should I continue? All in all a different bike and much rarer than the WD M20.

Regards,
Leon

email (option): leonhop3@planet.nl