Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Forum picture...

I'm no expert on this sort of thing but is that 'years of service' stripes on the BD of the Matchless rider?...

For some reason I thought they were a WW1 thing..(I have my Grandfathers from the first war..He did the whole four years..)...

Also, assuming they were used in WW2 were they still the same colour?..

Or perhaps I've got it all wrong and they are something else entirely.. ...Ian

email (option): ian@wright52.plus.com

Re: Forum picture...

I don't know Ian but he's wearing ladies' gloves !

Hi Ian,

It's a set of service stripes indeed. Not just a WW1 thing but very common in WW2. The red on khaki ones are service stripes (every stipe is one year served)and I believe the white on khaki ones are for the years served overseas.

Regards,

Ramon

email (option): noahlevi6@hotmail.com

Yes Ian, they look like years of service stripes, red in colour. If the bottom one was blue that would indicate a wound I believe - but happy to stand correction. This is a modern photo though, yes?

Years of service stripes were also a WW2 thing, but they don't crop up in photos often from what I've seen. But the manuals do cover their use. I have a set that my Grandfather had from WW2.

Thanks Ramon...(and Rik..I'll resist the temptation to make further comment despite JTs recent post.. )...

My GrandfathersWW1 stripes are a dark olive green...Ian

They are service stripes, usually printed red-on-khaki...........introduced in late-1944 with a stripe for every year served..........."wound" stripes were worn on the opposite arm and were a single strip of gold or yellow thin braid worn vertically for each wound received............