Go to the NEW FORUM

Music, music, music...
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Holidays in Barcelona

To Honorio and spanish people of this forum :
I need your help
From August 1st to 10th, I'm gonna go to Barcelona for my holidays. It's the first time in my life that I go to Spain so I can't wait to be there !
Barcelona must be such a large city with certainly thousands of interesting places to visit, that's why I need help from you guys to recommand me 3 or 4 things I absolutely must see.
And for the evenings, can you recommand me some good bars or clubs where I can have a drink while listening to some good music.
And as usual, everywhere I go outside France, I need to purchase cds. What are the good music stores in Barcelona ?
Thank you.

Re: Holidays in Barcelona

Hey, dumbangel, so sorry that I have not enough time to meditate the answer to your question. Tomorrow I will go on holidays and I will come back the same day you go, on 1 August. I’m not an expert in Barcelona, although I must say that my favourite of the Spanish cities (although the people there don’t consider themselves as “Spanish”, but this is another whole question).
Places you must see:
- The wonderful modernist architecture of Gaudí, specially the unfinished but spectacular Sagrada Familia, but also the Parc Güell and La Pedrera.
- You must take a walk through Les Rambles, the Place of Catalunya and the Gothic Quarter, the most antique part of Barcelona.
- I recommend going to the Museu Picasso (with permanent expositions of the genial Spanish painter). I never been to MACBA (Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona) but my mother liked it a lot.
- In the Ancient Port of Barcelona there is a good oceanographic (but the Valencia one is better!).
- And a lot other places, take a walk and discover it!!
About nightlife and music places:
- If you like classical or opera you can go to the Theatre Liceu (but you'd need a suit).