The Old Acclaimed Music Forum

Go to the NEW FORUM

Music, music, music...
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
my experience and contributions part 1

Hi again everybody

As I told you in my previous posts, I'm a newcomer to this site (should I say "New kid in Town", one of my favorite Eagles' song ?°) and first thing I would like to say is that I'm astonished by the job you guys are doing.
I (stupidly) thought I was the only guy in the world doing endless Excel lists of songs and artists, and it feels good to know that it's not true !
as I told you, I'm 37, French, I live near Paris and I work as an editor in a publishing house doing school books. the rest of my life is devoted to my family (a wife, a daughter and a son to come next november) and MUSIC (and to a lesser extend, films and books).
I started making music lists in 1981. I was 11 and I was very found of the various Hit parades (translate : single charts) that were given by different radio stations (it was before 1985 when a national TOP 50 was created in France). At thta time I used to make compilations of the various hit parades. A good beginning (I remember a certain summer of 1983 when Michael Jackson with Beat it used to compete against david Bowie's Let's dance and Police's every breath you take)
I grew up during the 80's. at that time, Punk and New wave and the rising of Fm Radio stations in France had created a sort of blackout, a big musical amnesia. on the air you very seldom heard music from the 60's and the 70's with all of its treasures (except a few beatles' songs).
And then, from 1988 on , 20th anniversaries occured : the first was newspaper Libération's, which published in the summer of 1988 a special issue called (translation) "Our 20th birthday's album, 1968-88". that was a list of 100 albums elected by 20 of France's greatests musical critics, reporters and writers.