The Old Acclaimed Music Forum

Go to the NEW FORUM

Music, music, music...
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Captain Beefheart RIP

NO WAY!

That mas was pure genius in music and art in general. No way man! I cannot believe it, but his legacy is here for everyone forever.

Re: Captain Beefheart RIP

Thanks for bumming me out...but at least I have a playlist for the night...nothin but Beefheart and Zappa for me.

Fast and Bulbous!!!

I was shocked and saddened when I heard this. He really deserves all the praise he gets, and I'm only beginning to dive into his discography. Wherever he is now, I hope people understand his music better there than they do here.

Random place to put this but RIP Bob Feller.

Pitchfork has got a couple of videos of the man posted in the news article.
He was ill for a long time, and died of multiple slerosis.
I've been a huge fan for years. Very sad.

He was so reclusive... i haven't heard of him for like years! Only once in a while something new about him came out, whereas terrific things about Safe as Milk, Trout Mask Replica and his other works have been written for like years now! I never knew much about him, not as much as his music, and maybe that was the fun. He looked like a great guy while i was watching his interview to Letterman that Pitchfork posted, but he also had this mysterious air surround him. Wow he was a genius and he'll be missed, but his legacy is here and thank God receiving the recognition it deserves. Look at Nick Drake, the dude was a genius and died without anyone caring and recognition. Suddenly during the 80s and beyond he had became one of the three biggest and best english singer/songwriters of the last 50 years. He didn't live to see that and he knew he deserved more than what he had in the late 60s to the early 70s. It sucks. At least Cap lived to see his records becoming influential and classics on their own, even though i don't think he really cared as much as making art himself.

Jackson