Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
1939 WM20 Fuel tank restoration welding query ?

Hello , Im in the process of restoring the fuel tank (Balloon type) on My 1939 BSA WM20 ..the bottom edge all round is rottedaway so Im forming a new bottom and intend removing around 2-3" all around the rotten edge,butt welding new metal but am concerned about heat distortion around the top edge ? would Anyone have any suggestions for this please ? I am an experienced welder & have MIG , TIG or Oxy Acetylene but am undecided which to use ? Thank You in advance , Steve .

email (option): s.foster11@blueyonder.co.uk

Re: 1939 WM20 Fuel tank restoration welding query ?

I'd use tig for that as the heat applied is pretty localised...However, you may still get a little distortion...That, if it happens, can be dressed out using a 'dolly' and a 'slapper' before the bottom is fitted...Ian

email (option): ian@wright52.plus.com

Thank You Ian .

Im inclining towards TIG welding as the bottom is out I can get a dolly behind .
Would You stitch weld and then dolly the stitch before moving along ..would You also cool the stitch ?

email (option): s.foster11@blueyonder.co.uk

I think I would stitch weld and then dress the seam before completing the welding....Allow to cool naturally as the spec. of the steel is unknown...Ian

The business I used here in the USA for fuel tank repair, always gas welds them as the factory did. He says it produces much less distortion than electrical welding. He uses a very small acetylene torch like for jewelry making.

He is retired now but had been welding fuel tanks since the 1960's.

FWIW I use a Dillon ( now called Henrob 2000 ) with the No 1 or the No.0.5 tips 1 = 0.030" thickness to .250" 0.5 tip is < .030"& I have welded beer cans with it ( badly with a few holes ) to win a bet .