Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
WM20 brake linings revisited How thick??

I found a $37 dollar brake rivet tool. I found brake material by the foot.
I can measure how wide I need, but how thick were the original linings.
I looks to me I will be all in for $60 dollars with the ability to do my KM20.
Brake lining material is really cheap?
This looks to be an easy DIY. I know the original contain asbestos. I am a chemist and know how to handle the stuff. Water to handle any dust, gloves and an N95 mask.

Here is an interesting story about my dad. In 1940 my dad went to work to work as a welder in the Philadelphia Ship Yards. He told me a story about the crews having fights, battering each other with huge blocks of asbestos. He then went on to be a 3rd Class Engineman on the USS Alaska. After the war he went back to welding. He lived a happy very long life with no issues caused by years of breathing asbestos dust. Just saying. He also smoked Chesterfields, ate bacon and eggs every morning washed down with black coffees.

email (option): cbhaws@verizon.net

Re: WM20 brake linings revisited How thick??

The kids in the towns where they mined the asbestos used to play in it all day.
I think it around 10 to 15% came down with cancer and of course 50 years on pinpointing the cause is always problematic.
I made asbestos impregnated lagging for years when I was at college
Same plant made muffler bags for ships.
Sewn from asbestos impregnated cotton material then filled by hand with expanded asbestos which was made by cooking raw asbestos in a 44 gallon drum rotated over some burners.
Last get together all were alive & well.

Like a lot of things, asbestos is fatal to SOME people it is all in your genes .

s for the material make sure it is soft enough for hand powered braking systems