Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: new clutch options

When I did BSA singles for a living I gave away every six spring clutch I was unfortunate enough to get when I purchased job lots of BSA parts as IMO they are a very poor design...
I know others have different opinions but I think the clue comes from BSA themselves...When they took over Triumph in the 50's they immediately replaced their own 6 spring clutch with the Triumph 4 spring type and all subsequent BSAs used that or a variant of it..I could detail what I consider to be the weak points of the BSA item when a comparison is made..

I got some replica parts from Dragonfly to refurbish a standard clutch on a friends bike and frankly some of it was rubbish...When ordering, in response to my enquiry about the origin of the clutch sprocket the seller confirmed they were made by Velocette Engineering in Coventry.. On receipt of the parts I could plainly see the differences between the Velocette part and the one supplied and this part, at least, I suspect was of Indian origin...It required some remachining and a lot of wasted time to get it to work correctly..

I think it is best to use either NOS parts if you can find them with a Velocette Engineering clutch sprocket if you can find a supplier...There are also some well manufactured parts from the Netherlands to replace and upgrade the originals..

Alternatively, the easiest solution is to fit a complete Triumph pre unit clutch...

Points to note here...You will need the modified clutch sleeve/adapter that enables you to fit the clutch to an early BSA such as the M20...
You will need a new clutch pushrod..This is easily made from a standard (13") length of 1/4" dia silver steel, easily obtainable from engineering suppliers..