Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Salty Bessie - March 2019 Lake Gairdner

I thought is was about time that I put just a little up here about my carry-on at the Dry Lakes Racers Australia Speed Week 2019. Some of you might have seen related posts on the forum on my intent and progress to run in the 2019 Speed Week with a BSA 500cc SV, some of you may already be aware of the outcome via BSAMOA (Vic) or Facebook or word of mouth. Anyway, here's some notes, a very short form of what went on!

Firstly I was a complete novice, I'd never done any form of motorsport in my life, I'd never restored, let along build a non-standard bike. As you'd expect the journey was not direct and the outcome not what had been planned. The objective was simply to run in the 2019 Speed Week. The base for the bike was a Gumtree purchased 'barn find' 1948 BSA M21. The bike was mostly all there, but what was there was mostly not in good shape. The story was that some work had been done many years before but it never made it back on the road. As I took the bike apart that was most likely a true story, rebored, piston marked with BSA +0.5mm, honing marks still visible, engine sprocket too close to crankcase so that chain touched the case, i.e. if you had started it you'd have made a mess. Frame with a large slug of braze sliding inside one leg of the chainstay, chainstay in two parts. A long list of things that weren't going to be a motorcycle without lots of work.