Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: WM20 Girder fork lengths

There is a difference in length of 1/2" and you hardly notices this difference. The short one has part number 66-5023 while the longer forks have part number 66-5016. The short forks are pretty hard to find but the long forks are getting pretty difficult to find too. The red arrow is where the difference in length is. I could use a short one myself and would happily swap it for the longer version.

Henk

Front_forks_WM20

email (option): ahum@quicknet.nl

Those dimensions are next to impossible to read !

Hans I studied my version of that drawing and came up with the main measurements here. The 1/2" difference that Henk mentions is made up for on the center mudguard support with a simple 1/2" hex spacer......More to do with necessity than cosmetics. Ron

Scan_140318_0001

email (option): ronpier@talk21.com

These dimensions are not important in this post, just the red arrow to indicate where the difference in length is between short and long forks.

Henk

I agree Henk, but handy to have to check if you think your forks might be bent sideways.:confused: Ron

email (option): ronpier@talk21.com

Thank you guys. Most informative.
I wondered why some bikes have a 1/2" nut under the center fender support and some didn't. I also note that some bikes have the nut, but probably shouldn't as the fender crowds the front tyre.

Cheers for clarifying.

I have my eye on a complete fork set I'm trying to obtain. Exciting times!

email (option): marty.whyte@gmail.com

When you try to fit a front mudguard on long forks without that spacer you struggle to tighten it all up as it really need that (1/2") spacer.

Henk

Marty,