Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: 1943 WM20 arrived in Hong Kong any obvious irregularities?

Yes indeed Henk I missed that post war shield at the front .

Stuart I'll send you some pictures of mine which is an early bike which is depicted as brought up to later war spec. Please search pictures of other guys bikes however as reference research. Ron

email (option): ronpier@talk21.com

Stuart,

She looks nice in Civies, I know you want her back to miltary, could cost. Just use her as it is until you get all the bits

Dave

email (option): jeepfinger@blueyonder.co.uk

Dear All

Many thanks to all the eagled eyed enthusiasts out there and I appreciate the honesty, it will make the restoration run a lot smoother and save re doing a lot of the work over again.

I’m new to the WM20 scene and my bike is actually only the second time I have seen a WM20 in the flesh, the first one is the only other one in Hong Kong and is in pretty bad shape and a lot missing.

So far I can determine that I need to start looking for the correct 1943 period pieces.

Mudguards
All Levers
Speedo (I already know what to look for)
Ammeter
Switch
Headlamp glass and rim
Dynamo
Regulator
Horn
Knee Grips
Saddle Springs
Primary chain case

I have tried google searching with many mixed results and nothing that says this was issued in 1943. If anyone has an image of any of the items even if it’s come from Google that would be period correct it would be greatly appreciated. With time comes knowledge and that’s something I haven’t been able to put in living in Hong Kong, where the number of prewar vintage bike can be counted on one hand. However I’m sure you all know the stage I’m at as everyone started at the beginning at some point in time.