Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Help required dads BSA ! ...Is this a M20 ?

Help request for my late dads BSA.. unknown Model etc, photo enclosed.

Hi all,

Newbie here so please excuse any lack of knowledge !..

Can anyone help :-

My late dad had a BSA motorcycle back in the mid forties to the early fifties.

I have a black and white photo of dad on it while he was in the RAF, he was stationed at RAF Cardington Bedford, just after the war.

Photo :-

https://www.flickr.com/photos/60033589@N03/31789926856/in/dateposted-public/

kindest regards

Derrick

email (option): zola-1@ntlworld.com

Re: Help required dads BSA ! ...Is this a M20 ?

Ooops i don't think i put the photo in ! here it is

Dads BSA

That seems like a pre war BSA M23 to me.

Henk

email (option): ahum@quicknet.nl

Hi Henk,

Many thanks for the quick reply, would the M23 be a 350cc or a 500cc ?
ive just done a quick search on youtube and found this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ECEsC-Mq7ig

its the only picture i have of dad on a motorcycle :), he looks so happy ....i just want to be sure its the correct one, were they a production bike or a ww2 military supply only ?

that sergeant looks like he can handle that motorcycle, were they handful to ride? do you have one ?

any thoughts ..

got so many q's please bear with me :)

kind regards

derrick

This is basically a motorcycle just as the M20 but with a over head valve engine. Very nice motorcycle of 500 cc. The best of all was the M24 with basically the same ohv engine but with an alloy cylinder and head.

Henk

email (option): ahum@quicknet.nl

A 500cc, great that sounds so much better than a 350....i'm so pleased to find some answers to some of my q's , that have built up in my head ,,,thank you, i will be in touch as i have a few more q's.

many thanks

derrick