Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Sidecar on B31 frame?

My M21 is in a B31 frame. I have a hankering to marry it up to a light Briggs sidecar and wanted to rebuld into an M21 frame.

However I'm wondering if I could attach the sidecar as is without too much risk of distorting a frame that was never designed for sidecar use.

I'm converting the sidecar to a braked hub which should help to keep things less stressy when braking and cornering if I can get my left footwork right.

I have no previous experience of riding a combo so would appreciate your thoughts on this.

Thanks,
Bernie

email (option): bernie.a.jones@gmail.com

Re: Sidecar on B31 frame?

I have never used a sidecar brake, I'm not sure there is any benefit with a light sidecar or a slow combination?

You can fit a sidecar to any motorcycle, they used to fit them on Vespa scooters and I have seem them attached to a C90 and a Bantam but not for very long.

With your "B" range frame the front top mount should be Ok with a clamp around the frame, front bottom and top rear again quite secure with a clevis bolted through a frame bolt, but the bottom rear is where the "B" range frame is weakest, you will need two clamps around both rear tubes and a heavy steel plate between them and even then you stand a fair chance of crushing or bending the rear frame.

Much better to find an "M" frame if you can.

But good luck with your project.

Rob

email (option): robmiller11(a)yahoo.co.uk

Thanks Rob,

The brake is for my own peace of mind - I may find I don't need it after a while but as a combination newbie I thought it would offer a bit more control under braking.

When you refer to bracing the rear frame tubes I'm guessing you mean across the frame in front of the wheel rather than top to bottom on the LHS?

I'm hoping to find a donor M21 frame but no luck so far.

Cheers,
Bernie