The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Any suggestions? Clutch/gearbox.

hi BTB,
I'm no expert but I learned through error that its easy to leave the little woodruff key out when re-attaching the clutch to the gearbox output shaft. With this missing, its possible everything will work when static but as soon as some actual stress is applied, the clutch assembly will spin around when it tries to drive the rear wheel.

email (option): cas.vanderwoude@gmail.com

Hi BTB,

When you pull the clutchlever, does the hart of the clutch come to a standstill when the engine is idling with the rearwheel on the ground?

Ideally it should, and then you should be able to select the 1st gear without noise, or even have to move the bike a little to get the dogs match up.

If it's not there is clutch-drag and the more drag the more the dogs rattle. Have you followed Ians instructions in the technical section?

Good luck!, Michiel

Thanks for the suggestions guys. Yes Cas, the woodruff key is there. I will go and check what you say Michiel a bout the movement. And yes I have seen Ian's excellent technical article. But I feel my problem is probably related to some difference from standard spec of the new parts. A combination of probably small differences are at the heart of my problems.

I found that the friction plates that I bought was to thick (as per link/picture below). Ended up removing one of each to get proper hight (adviced by people here). Still haven't reached start-up so don't know if it worked.
But maybe this could be your problem?

Picture:
%%bbCodeItem_1%%IMG_2235 by Bohuslän i mitt hjärta, on Flickr