Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Some photos of my M20 restoration to date, Part 4

I'm so grateful to this site and the image on Draganfly for the re-assembly of my clutch, when I took it apart I couldn't understand the purpose of the roller bearings as the centre and the chainwheel were seized together. Whilst cleaning all the bearing surfaces and after seeing the images of the single clutch assembly I was thankfully able to get the 2 apart, using scotchbrite and re-greasing all the roller bearings the movement has been re-instated and all of a sudden I have a clutch that works and a movement/fit that is very neat.
I studied Hans Mullers Clutch tool page, but as I never had a U tool at hand I decided to have a go at the simple method. Turning a brass tool with the location stub for the boss with a nice precise clearance fit for the nut to locate onto and sit square to the tool. When I compressed all together on the drill it assembled beautifully with no problems at all, the nut tightened with ease.
 photo P1020810_zps1b0e67b0.jpg
My bench is now empty of all sub assemblies that need restoring and although there is still a bit of away to go I can start to see a little light at the end of the tunnel.
I need to soak my new cork washer in oil prior to fitting to the shaft but hopefully I can start getting the Primary drive cases together.
In the mean time my daughter has reminded me that her scooter (as seen in the background)still goes faster than my bike????
 photo P1020813_zps980a7326.jpg
One quick question on the clutch assembly, how tight do you go with the C-spanner on the single centre spring, currently I have the nut fully engaged with the clutch sleeve and seems to have good resistance, don't want to overtighten but also don't wish to have a slipping clutch.
Julian

email (option): 79Aust@sky.com