Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
What is it?

Ok, I am still learning this motorcycle, so far it has been fun!
On the rear tire (tyre),on my M20 there is on valve were you put the air in, about 6 inches away is another valve? or something sticking out of the rim? What is it and what does it do?
Thanks.
One of the few, Frank USMC RET

email (option): normandy@ec.rr.com

Re: What is it?

It's a security bolt. There is a rubber clamping face (for want of a better description) on the other end which is tightened down to pull the beads into the rim and stop tyre creep from pulling the valve out of the tube.

It was a feature from about 1941 and is particularly important when running low tyre pressures for off-road riding.

A modern tyre bead at road pressures is less likely to need them.

They can be quite a fiddle to fit....

Hi Frank..That is a tyre clamp...It clamps the tyre to the rim, so that when running on low pressures off road the tyre does not turn on the rim and pull out the inner tube valve....Ian

email (option): ian@wright52.plus.com

Hi Rik..Synchronised formation typing.. . Not bad, only 11 minutes to get a reply to a question!..Ian

What a relief that we gave the same answer...

Thanks!!!!
Do you guys ever sleep?

I sometimes cut the rubber away or fit a dummy bolt. Just to try and convince people that I intend to do some serious off roading and get my bike all muddy.

Ron

Photobucket

email (option): ronpier@talk21.com

Ron, did you dip this drive chain in hot paraffin, like we used to do before modern chain lubes and o-ring chains were developed?

email (option): jonny.rudge@verizon.net

Hi John. This chain has been soaked in melted chain lube grease. I've never heard of the hot paraffin thing? I imagine that would degrease a chain ready for lube? Ron