Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
footrest nuts

i know these should be 1/2", 20tpi full nuts, but are they small hex ?

what size should they be AF ?

email (option): chris.astinbarker@btinternet.com

Re: footrest nuts

Hi Chris, mine are 20 mm hex, Good luck, Michiel

email (option): m.wijbenga@hotmail.com

Chris they won't be AF! The thread is 20tpi BSC. which I think is a Whitworth form. Although it's very close to 20 tpi UNF and I have used UNF taps and dies to clean a thread. But the spanner size will be Whitworth/BSF.......I'm no engineer! Ron

email (option): ronpier@talk21.com

Ron I dont belive you,take a close look folks at rons work ! andrew.h.

email (option): warbikes@gmail.com

hi,they wont be 20 mm hex ,all sizes on british made machines are imperial.
the exceptions are,and i do not know why,the spark plug thread (14)mm,one or two of the bearings,i.e the gear box main bearing (sprocket),and of course the bore x
stroke.
during the war,to save metal the old whitworth spanner sizes were reduced to the one below,i.e. 1/2'' became 7/16''bs (british standard).
without digging into reference books to state what the difference was ,i can asure you that there is a considerable difference.
there is a common myth floating around the world of spanners,people readily
assume that af stands for american fine,in reality it stands for across flats
the same as all the metric spanners,sockets and etc.
the guy who invented the system of interchangeable parts (threads),also laid down
the dimensions of the relative hexagon as compared with the material propreties of the day.
about a hundred years later,when needs must,the system was changed,so now on a whitworth spanner it will state,1/2'' whitworth,7/16 b.s
hope this helps
cheers rick

email (option): richardholt@rocketmail.com

Ron, I think Chris meant Across Flats ! Easier way to see what spanner you need...