The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
1947 XM20

Hello
I’m new to WM20 forum.

I’ve just bought my first British bike, it’s a 1947 XM20 girder front. I’ve had plenty of good years on Japanese bikes and ten years or so riding Harleys.

No jump on, press a button and go here!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My plan is to make it stop and go mechanically that’s all, I like the 65 years of keeping it on the road look.
It hasn’t run or been on the road for years so it’s a bit of a project, I haven’t even tried kicking her yet. For now I’m checking her over, not that I know much about motorcycles mechanics, but what I don’t know I can surely find on the forum. The old & new posts are a great way to educate yourself...

So the tank off along with some other bits & bobs, I’ve got some issues with the wiring but hopefully none too troublesome. The tank doesn’t look to have had petrol in it for years so it’s got the usual crusty bits of rust inside. The carb was bunged up so that will need a strip down and clean, new jets and gaskets to order. I’m thinking for now doing a chemical clean or 12v battery, washing soda/electrolysis way to remove the rust.
I’ve removed the fuel taps can someone let me know the thread size so I can bung the tank for cleaning?

I plenty more questions to ask before I kick my M20 to life again

DC

email (option): damian153@hotmail.co.uk

Re: 1947 XM20