Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Kickstart 'slip' !

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here,hopefully someone will be able to give some advice.
I got an M20 about 6 months ago, just got it MOT'd. Very next time I go to start it the kickstart just slips round without engaging. If I do it gently, but not fast enough to start it it does 'grip'. I imagine its the shock loading it cannt take. From the looks of the parts list its the kickstart quadrant that has gone. Question is do I need a new kickstart pinion as well or will I get away with just the quadrant. Also is it hard to do? I have done a bit of spannering on bikes over the years but nothing on an old BSA? Thanks.

Re: Kickstart 'slip' !

Does it make a rattling sound, or just slips?
If it rattles, have a look at the engine cush drive, the cush drive nut might have loosened!
DAMHIK...

email (option): viaconsu # planet dot nl

Hans is right. Also it could be the clutch slipping? Might be time to take the chaincase off for a look see. Ron

email (option): ronpier@talk21.com

Jim should take his bike to Normandy in June and let us experts have a go at fixing it there

email (option): ahum@quicknet.nl

Thanks for the ongoing help guys, I'm a complete novice with these. The noise sounds 'ratchety' and comes from just inside the case by the kickstart. Am I right in thinking that the clutch is on the opposite side of the engine. It never has had any clutch slip before. Thanks again.

Hey Jim,

Henk has a great CD with the workshop manual on it. You can find it under "parts for sale". I would strongly recommend getting it, as a quick read will give hours of riding pleasure in return as you can get your bike fettled. Cheers

email (option): britool51@hotmail.com

And have a look at the 'Technical info' page of Henk's website; there's a wealth of information available!