Questions? Looking for parts? Parts for sale? or just for a chat,

The WD Motorcycle forum

WD Motorcycle forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Despatch Rider or Army Motorcyclist?

Hello!

Can i be helped to more clearly understand the difference between a Despatch Rider and Army Motorcyclist?

Cheers

Michael

email (option): micran1234@yahoo.com

Re: Despatch Rider or Army Motorcyclist?

I am no expert, but my opinion would be that a Dispatch Rider (or Despatch, either is correct) is a rider who's job description is to carry messages to and from various u7nits and HQ. An Army Motorcyclist could be part of a motorized troop, reconnaissance Section or even a Machine Gun Corp who is primarily a combat soldier on a motorcycle or sidecar.

Dispatch Rider.....

Post War - Spey Barracks

Army Motorcyclists.....

Boyes Anti-tank Rifle

Norton 16H and French Civilians

email (option): stinkypete80@hotmail.com

Dispatch rider was a trade within the RCS. They were trained and graduated as dispatch riders. They wore the winged wheel patch as their trade badge. Their purpose was to deliver messages. Motorcyclist were exactly that, men trained to ride motorcycles within their units, provosts etc...This does not mean they did not do dispatch riding for their units, but they weren't Signals.

And I presume army motorcyclists did not wear the winged wheel. I am in a reenacting group. We portray 15th Scottish Recce. We are mostly vehicle borne. I am trying to figure out if I should be a DR or Army motorcyclist. 15th Recce would never have a DR would they? Wouldnt a DR be part of Royal Signals? Or... would there be a DR wearing 15th division Lion and Recce shoulder title?

I am also somewhat interested in another point. Would a Army motorcyclist have access to the same kit as a DR?

Working on my impression here. Thanks for the help.