KBGS Old Boys' Forum

A place to discuss Keighley Boys' Grammar School. 

Terms of use.  Anonymous, offensive, or malicious postings will  be deleted. School-related topics only please. If you need to add a "family notice" reply to any of the current messages in that thread, and remember to change the Subject to the name of the newsworthy person.

KBGS Old Boys' Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Old Chemistry

Mention of saltpetre in 'Mischievous Night' thread reminded me of all those wonderful chemical names, long since passed into oblivion:-

Saltpetre (Potassium nitrate), Epsom(nearly typed Epson!)Salts (Magnesium Sulphate), Oil of Vitriol (Sulphuric acid), etc etc

As I am a chemist, rather than me make a whole list, maybe I can encourage you to list of as many as possible, then when it sems to be exhausted, I'll try to add some more.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 58-64

Current location (optional) Wirral

Re: Old Chemistry

Fennings Fever Cure - (Nitric Acid - Aqua fortis)

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 52-60

Current location (optional) Lincoln

Many of these common names for compounds puzzled me. Salt is understandable, but why people bothered using Bicarbonate of Soda instead of Sodium Bicarbonate was a real puzzle. Oh, and you had to put Potash on the garden. Wierd.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 58-65

Current location (optional) leeds

Chile Saltpetre, Slaked Lime, Chloride o'Lime, Gypsum, Flowers of Sulphur, Aqua Regis, Tinture of Gum Shellac, Caustic Soda, Meths.
What most of these were, I've long forgotten Brian (if I ever knew, that is).

When it comes to organic chemistry, the contemporary "systematic" notation, is a minefield for us laymen of course (not least because we'd need to know what we were talking about!)

Go on - give us the modern names for vinegar, meths and acetylene!

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 58-65