KBGS Old Boys' Forum

A place to discuss Keighley Boys' Grammar School. 

Terms of use.  Anonymous, offensive, or malicious postings will  be deleted. School-related topics only please. If you need to add a "family notice" reply to any of the current messages in that thread, and remember to change the Subject to the name of the newsworthy person.

KBGS Old Boys' Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
english

Following on the recent discipline theme, it always confused me why the powers that be made us read " Tale of two cities", Henry IV, twentieth century poets and the like.
I was a typical 11/12 year old lad yearning for the likes of "Treasure Island "
Consequently discipline in Percy Peart's class consisted of dictation at stupid speeds to cause total chaos.
It put me off reading for years yet now I appreciate Shakespeare and the like.
I ended up teaching for a living and now I see the results of letting students write as words sound.
Would you believe a student wrote jenjen for changing?
This student was on a HND course by the way.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 58-63

Current location (optional) north wales

Re: english

Why do we spell the word phonetic with ph?

why is "dyslexic" such a difficult word to spell?