KBGS Old Boys' Forum

A place to discuss Keighley Boys' Grammar School. 

Terms of use.  Anonymous, offensive, or malicious postings will  be deleted. School-related topics only please. If you need to add a "family notice" reply to any of the current messages in that thread, and remember to change the Subject to the name of the newsworthy person.

KBGS Old Boys' Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Drummers - grace a "the ladder problem"

Shaun Pye is responsible for the "deviation, hesitation" and downright irrelevance of introducing drummers to a serious scientific conundrum.
Any road up and just a minute,(I'm only keyboarding this to get way from Norman Tebbit on "Any Questions") it seemed only fair to the ladder conundrum that a new post for the drummer theme (contradiction in terms)be started.
As a young self-taught (hopeful) drummer in the 3rd form (Year 9)at KBGS, I was delighted to be asked by a 6th former if I wanted to join the rehearsals of a group of young musicians (most current or ex-kbgs). I joined and never looked back - but my purpose of this posting is to provoke recollections from old Keighlians of their experiences of local (Aire-Worth or wider)bands of the '50s - ie pre-rock and usually "dance-hall wallpaper". I recall a small 3 or 4 piece (take your pick) band led by drummer, Joe Keneally, a worshipper at St Annes, who provided mainly Old Tyme (no parsley!) dancing for many grateful couples.He was only too willing to pass on his advice and experience.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 52-60

Current location (optional) Lincoln

Re: Drummers - grace a "the ladder problem"

I do remember Terry playing drums at Kirkudbright, 1959? (?) Harrison was playing tea chest base.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 58-61

Current location (optional) Blue Mountains, Australia via Haworth

What if there's a skiffle revival? I haven't seen a tea chest for years!