KBGS Old Boys' Forum

A place to discuss Keighley Boys' Grammar School. 

Terms of use.  Anonymous, offensive, or malicious postings will  be deleted. School-related topics only please. If you need to add a "family notice" reply to any of the current messages in that thread, and remember to change the Subject to the name of the newsworthy person.

KBGS Old Boys' Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Victoria Hospital, Keighley

Yes, Braithwaite Open Air school is still there. Opened in September 1929, the classrooms could be opened up to the sun and so it got it's name.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 1959-64

Current location (optional) Keighley

re the Open Air School- I went there for 12 months and sat the County Minor Exam while there.Cheers.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 47-51

Current location (optional) Auckland

When I worked as a cleaner at West Yorkshire bus station, some local villain had a scam to rob the visitors to Keighley Vic. The bus would be parked up early in Cooke Stret alongside the Old Man's Park, ready for a departure which would get passengers to the hospital for evening visiting time. Passengers would arrive, seat themselves and wait for the bus crew to officiate. One bloke turned up with a ticket machine and cash bag, collected the fairs and then scarpered. I think he got nicked the next time he tried it.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 52-60

Not wishing to impugn travelling showmen, it was fares he collected!!

There was one more hospital in Keighley. That was