KBGS Old Boys' Forum

A place to discuss Keighley Boys' Grammar School. 

Terms of use.  Anonymous, offensive, or malicious postings will  be deleted. School-related topics only please. If you need to add a "family notice" reply to any of the current messages in that thread, and remember to change the Subject to the name of the newsworthy person.

KBGS Old Boys' Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Kirky

I am a teacher at Oakbank,and involved with the group that runs the hut at Kirky. My father David Shires was an old boy and as such I spent many holidays around Kirkcudbright reliving my dad's days at the school camp.
Next year is the centenary of students going to the camp, and we are planning some kind of event to commemerate this. As this takes shape I will update this post, but if anybody has memories, reminiscences etc that they would like to share with other people with a passion for the keighley camp at Kirky I would be delighted to hear from them. My email is js@oakbank.org.uk if anyone would like to contact me directly.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) n/a

Current location (optional) Keighley

Re: Kirky

I was in Kirkcudbright last week, stopping overnight nearby on the way to Ireland. Had a good search but couldn't find the site of the camp (never went there as a lad so didn't know where to look). Nobody seemed to know about it. But I did get a cracking portion of fish and chips down by the harbour.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) 1958-65

Current location (optional) Leeds

If you go across the bridge in the middle of town, take the next left signposted the Stell and Borgue and then continue for about 2 miles, you will find the entrance to Seaward campsite on your right. the Hut is about 50 yards further on on your right. If you get tothe Dhoon car park and beach you have gone too far.

Years at KBGS e.g. 1958-1964 (optional) n/a