Return to Website

1 Morel Mushroom Lane Message Board

Post your Morel Find Reports Here

Unique Morel Hunter's shirts, caps and a lot more!

1 Morel Mushroom Lane Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Is anyone having any luck in my area?

HI morel hunters,
I want to thank the operators of this website for this forum.I would also like to ask if anyone has located much of anything in my area here?I found a couple yellows and few pecker heads but really nothing much to speak of yet.Our weather has been really weird[cold35-60s].Last night we got a light frost.I am curious if this will be the end of any opportunity to find any more.Will this frost burn or kill any shrooms that might have been working there way up through the composting forest floor or do you think they will still continue to grow?The last few years around where I hunt has been becoming leaner and leaner it seems.I am fairly new to hunting mushrooms[4 years]I know there are certain things that make some places better to hunt then others.I would really appreciate any insight as to what particular trees to look for and their distinquishing features.I have access to a very large area to hunt and I feel that there are alot of mushrooms here to be found.I have yet to find any blacks.I'm probably walking right past them.The ice storm we had has really knocked out the tops of many larger trees here.I was hoping this would aid in the warming of the forest floor and therefore cause more mushroom activity[no luck yet].I would really appreciate any info that anyone can provide me with regarding these issues.
STIL LOOKIN' N INDIANA,
JIM

Email: erinjimCC@peoplepc.com

State: INDIANA

Re: Is anyone having any luck in my area?

good morning jim

I'm from central Indiana, was out this am for 3 hrs-
found 3 small poplars. I think their just now coming because of the weird weather-I've been hunting for 40 years, but this beats all. This past thursday found
40 fresh up.

good luck

cpprhd