Return to Website

1 Morel Mushroom Lane Message Board

Post your Morel Find Reports Here

Unique Morel Hunter's shirts, caps and a lot more!

1 Morel Mushroom Lane Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Best Way to Store ????

When and if I find any Morels in Idaho, what will be the best way for me to store them for future use?

And how do I clean them?

What is the best fieldguide book out there?

Thanks for any advice. Can you tell I am a beginner?

Email: smithgirls3@msn.com,3

State: Washington/Idaho,3

Re: Best Way to Store ????

The best way to preserve I hear is to dry them. You can use a de-hydrater or air dry on a nylon screen in the air. You can store them in jars or paper bags. Don't let any moisture get to them. To clean them just soak in salt water for a few hours and rinse. If you are going to dry them, you don't need to clean them until you use them.

Email: kickindirtdon@aol

State: Indiana

Last year, I tried 2 methods. I clean them the same way for both methods.
First, split them and wash them in a bowl of water real good but carefully. You can often blow or wash dirt out of pores.
I rolled some in flour for frying, but I only fried them for 2 mins on each side. I layered the sauted morels in a freezer bag on paper towels and put the bags in the freezer. Lasts about 4-6 months, Take them out and finish frying. You don't even have to thaw them. Tastes like you just picked them.

I also dried some using an old RonCo food dehydrater. These last for up to 2 years in the freezer. Rehydrate in water, milk, beer, or any liquid overnight. Usually end up about half the size of the original mushrooms once rehydrated. These have a little more flavor but arent as fleshy. Can also make powder out of dried morels and add to recipes for that special secret ingredient.

Email: ahistory@centurytel.net

State: Missouri

Re: Re: Best Way to Store ????